top of page

First UK edition. Quarto. Publisher’s cream paper-covered boards, lettered red, in the original dustwrapper decorated by Tolkien in Tengwar.


A fine copy in a near fine dustwrapper.


The first UK edition of this attractively produced volume featuring Tolkien’s poems of Middle-earth set to music by Donald Swann.


It includes music for seven poems: The Road Goes Ever On, Upon the Hearth the Fire is Red, In the Willow-meads of Tasarinan, In Western Lands, Namárië, I Sit Beside the Fire and Errantry, and also includes translations of Namárië and A Elbereth Gilthoniel.


The work was published in the US in October 1967 in an edition of 20,000 copies, before being issued in the UK in the present edition in February 1968.

The Road Goes Ever On

SKU: 263
Out of Stock
  • Author

    J.R.R. Tolkien

  • Publisher

    London: George Allen & Unwin

  • Date


Order With Confidence


If you are unsure of anything about one of our books or manuscripts, use the form to contact me directly.

Protecting Your Find 


All orders are professionally packed, and sent by couriers with full tracking.